COUSIN ISLAND SPECIAL RESERVE

COUSIN ISLAND SPECIAL RESERVE




Things to know about the COUSIN ISLAND SPECIAL RESERVE:

Die Insel Cousin to the Seychelles is an excellent example of ecotourism and is one of the world's first island protected areas. To protect the small, endangered population of the Seychelles Warbler, the granitic island was declared a nature reserve in 1968 by the International Council for Bird Preservation (now Birdlife International).

The whole island, including the reef up to 400m off the island, is a protected area. It is managed by Nature Seychelles (formerly Birdlife Seychelles), which operates as a local non-governmental organisation (NGO).

Cousin Island is completely reserved for nature conservation and is the only granite island in the Seychelles whose natural vegetation is protected. It is one of the best protected breeding grounds for Hawksbill turtles in the world and boasts the highest density of lizards per hectare.

Cousin is home to five native land bird species and is visited by 300,000 breeding seabirds each year. It is also home to the most protected and diverse fish population of any protected area within the granitic islands.

Opening hours:
The reserve is open Mondays to Fridays for half-day tours from 09.30 to 12.00. All boats must reach Cousin for a 09.30 tour. Staff will take visitors ashore as boats are only allowed within 200m of the island. Post-tour loading begins at 12.00.

Admission price is:
600 SCR for tourists incl. children. (since June 2020)

Boat tours are offered, for example, from Cote Dor. The trip takes about 30 minutes and the price including the landing fee is about 150€.

The following Payment methods are accepted:
American Express
Cash (EURO, Rupees (SCR), US-Dollar, Swiss Franc, MasterCard, Bank Transfer, Visa

en_GBEnglish (UK)

COUSIN ISLAND SPECIAL RESERVE

COUSIN ISLAND SPECIAL RESERVE




Wissenswertes über das COUSIN ISLAND SPECIAL RESERVE:

Die Insel Cousin auf den Seychellen ist ein hervorragendes Beispiel für Ökotourismus und ist eines der weltweit ersten Inselschutzgebiete. Um die kleine, bedrohte Population des Seychelles Warblers zu schützen, wurde die granitische Insel 1968 durch den International Council for Bird Preservation (heute Birdlife International) zum Naturreservat erklärt.

Die ganze Insel einschließlich des Riffes bis zu 400m vor der Insel ist ein Schutzgebiet. Verwaltet wird es von Nature Seychelles (früher Birdlife Seychelles), die als lokale Nichtregierungsorganisation (NGO) arbeitet.

Die Insel Cousin ist komplett für den Naturschutz reserviert und ist die einzige Granitinsel der Seychellen, deren natürliche Vegetation geschützt wird. Sie ist eine der am besten geschützten Brutstätten für Hawksbill Schildkröten auf der Welt und rühmt sich mit der höchsten Dichte an Echsen pro Hektar.

Cousin ist die Heimat von fünf einheimischen Landvogelarten und wird jedes Jahr von 300.000 brütenden Seevögeln aufgesucht. Man findet dort auch das am besten geschützte und mannigfaltigste Fischvorkommen eines Schutzgebietes innerhalb der granitischen Inseln.

Öffnungszeiten:
Das Reservat ist Montags bis Freitags für Halbtagesausflüge von 09.30 bis 12.00 Uhr geöffnet. Alle Boote müssen Cousin für eine Tour um 09.30 Uhr erreichen. Mitarbeiter werden Besucher an Land bringen, da Boote nur bis auf 200m an die Insel heran fahren dürfen. Das Verladen nach der Tour beginnt um 12.00 Uhr.

Eintrittspreis ist:
600 SCR für Touristen inkl. Kinder. (seit Juni 2020)

Bootstouren werden z.b. ab Cote Dor angeboten. Fahrtzeit ca 30 Minuten und der Preis inkl der Landegebühr liegt bei ca 150€

Folgende Zahlungsmethoden werden akzeptiert:
American Express
Bar (EURO, Rupien (SCR), US-Dollar, Schweizer Franken, MasterCard, Banküberweisung, Visa