COUSIN

COUSIN




interesting facts about Cousin:

The Island Cousin is one of the first complete island and marine protected areas in the world. It is located 2 km off the coast of Praslin, the second largest island of the Seychelles.
This granitic island and the surrounding marine area were declared a nature reserve in 1968 by the International Council for the Protection of Birds (now BirdLife International) to protect the last tiny population of an almost extinct endemic bird species, the Seychelles warbler (Acrocephalus seychellensis). The entire island, including the 400 metres of water surrounding the island, was also declared a "special reserve" by the Seychelles government in 1975. Since 1998, the island has been managed by Nature Seychelles.

By the time the ICBP took over the island, most of the native habitat had been largely converted into a coconut and cinnamon plantation. The remaining population of the Seychelles Warbler was stuck in a mangrove swamp and did not provide an ideal habitat for the species.

In 1959, it was estimated that the Population the Seychelles Warbler, an endemic bird, comprised only 26 individuals, all confined to Cousin.

Soon, an intensive conservation programme was implemented: The coconuts were cut back so that the native forest of Pisionia grandis favoured by the Seychelles Warbler could thrive again. By 1982, the Seychelles Warbler population had reached about 320 adults, the maximum population Cousin could support. From here, the Seychelles Warbler was reintroduced to other islands in Seychelles to increase its population. The bird is now found on five other islands in Seychelles and numbers over 3000 individuals. The bird was reclassified from Red List 'Critically Endangered' to Critically Endangered in 2015 and is one of the biggest conservation success stories of recent times.

en_GBEnglish (UK)

COUSIN

COUSIN




Wissenswertes über Cousin:

Die Insel Cousin ist eines der ersten vollständigen Insel- und Meeresschutzgebiete der Welt. Sie liegt 2 km vor der Küste von Praslin, der zweitgrößten Insel der Seychellen.
Diese granitische Insel und das sie umgebende Meeresgebiet wurden 1968 vom Internationalen Rat für Vogelschutz (heute BirdLife International) zum Naturschutzgebiet erklärt, um die letzte winzige Population einer fast ausgestorbenen endemischen Vogelart, der Seychellengrasmücke (Acrocephalus seychellensis), zu schützen. Die gesamte Insel, einschließlich der 400 Meter Wasser, die die Insel umgeben, wurde 1975 von der Regierung der Seychellen ebenfalls zum „Sonderreservat“ erklärt. Seit 1998 wird die Insel von Nature Seychelles verwaltet.

Als die ICBP die Insel übernahm, war der größte Teil des einheimischen Lebensraums weitgehend in eine Kokosnuss- und Zimtplantage umgewandelt worden. Die Restpopulation der Seychellen Warbler hielt sich in einem Mangrovensumpf fest und bot der Art keinen idealen Lebensraum.

Im Jahr 1959 schätzte man, dass die Bevölkerung der Seychellen Warbler, ein endemischer Vogel, nur 26 Tiere umfasste, die alle auf Cousin beschränkt waren.

Bald wurde ein intensives Schutzprogramm durchgeführt: Die Kokosnüsse wurden zurückgeschnitten, so dass der von dem Seychellen Warbler bevorzugte einheimische Wald von Pisionia grandis wieder gedeihen konnte. Bis 1982 hatte die Seychellen Warbler-Population etwa 320 erwachsene Tiere erreicht, die maximale Population, die Cousin unterstützen konnte. Von hier aus wurde der Seychellen Warbler auf andere Inseln der Seychellen wieder angesiedelt, um seine Population zu erhöhen. Der Vogel kommt jetzt auf fünf weiteren Inseln der Seychellen vor und zählt über 3000 Individuen. Der Vogel wurde 2015 von der Roten Liste als „vom Aussterben bedroht“ in die Kategorie „kritisch bedroht“ umklassifiziert und ist eine der größten Erfolgsgeschichten der letzten Zeit im Naturschutz.