Seychelles on alert for Ebola cases

Health: Seychelles on alert for Ebola cases




Press release 24.05.2018

The Ministry of Health said there will be certain areas at Anse Royale Hospital that will be converted into an isolation centre - if the country ever records a case of Ebola. This precautionary measure will be implemented in the unfortunate event that a case of Ebola is recorded or even suspected in the country, despite Anse Royale being the second largest district on Mahé.

24.05.2018

Author:
Karl Schnürch

Anse Royale Hospital, originally given to the Seychelles by the Chinese, is located in the centre of the southern Mahé district, once called the country's second city. The medical centre is surrounded by banks, the University of Seychelles, restaurants, supermarkets - it is the busiest place in Anse Royale.

Recently, there have been reports of Ebola cases in the Democratic Republic of Congo. So far, the Congolese Ministry of Health has announced the confirmation of 11 previously suspected cases of Ebola and two more deaths, bringing the total number of cases, including 25 deaths, to 45. Of the cases, 14 are confirmed, 10 suspected, and 21 are likely to have the virus. All the deaths so far have occurred in Bikoro, a rural area about 150 km from Mbandaka, a town that has again recorded three cases of the virus.

Despite the World Health Organisation's claim that the cases in Congo were recorded in rural areas, making them more containable, the Seychelles Ministry of Health, as part of its preparedness initiative, conducted a field visit with some of its officials to contain the virus should it ever land on our shores.

"If this happens and we have one or two cases that we need to investigate, we will secure that area and move all the patients who have come to the centre to other facilities; we don't want to take the risk of other people coming into contact with those patients," said Seychelles Hospital Director Dr Kenneth Henriette.

"Everything lies in the centre of the Population." I am worried that the authorities have decided to use Anse Royale as an isolation centre; imagine the Congolese doing their utmost to leave the virus in far-flung rural areas while we use it here in Seychelles in the middle of a densely populated area," said one Anse Royale resident.

Considering that the last time the local health authority had to deal with the threat of such a virus was in Seychelles, this time there is a collective pooling of resources within the field to effectively address the problem.

"We are not only preparing the site, but also our staff, the information we need to provide to the public and the purchase of costly protective equipment - it is a multidisciplinary exercise involving doctors, nurses and nursing assistants, among others, to form an effective team to deal with this issue," he added.

In the recent past, the Ministry of Health had converted other areas into isolation centres for those suspected of being carriers of the plague from Madagascar.

Contrary to their names, the isolation centres were usually built in densely populated areas of the island, such as Perseverance.

seychellen.com Palm tree

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Seychellen in Alarmbereitschaft für Ebola Fälle

Gesundheit: Seychellen in Alarmbereitschaft für Ebola Fälle




Pressemitteilung vom 24.05.2018

Das Gesundheitsministerium sagte, dass es bestimmte Bereiche im Anse Royale Hospital geben soll, die in ein Isolationszentrum umgewandelt werden – falls das Land jemals einen Fall von Ebola aufzeichnet. Diese Vorsichtsmaßnahme wird in dem unglücklichen Fall umgesetzt, dass ein Fall von Ebola im Land registriert oder sogar vermutet wird, obwohl Anse Royale der zweitgrößte Bezirk auf Mahé ist.

24.05.2018

Das Anse Royale Hospital, ursprünglich von den Chinesen den Seychellen geschenkt, befindet sich im Zentrum des südlichen Mahé-Distrikts, der einst die zweite Stadt des Landes genannt wurde. Das medizinische Zentrum ist umgeben von Banken, der Universität der Seychellen, Restaurants, Supermärkten – es ist der belebteste Ort in Anse Royale.

In letzter Zeit gibt es Berichte über Ebola-Fälle in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Bisher hat das kongolesische Gesundheitsministerium die Bestätigung von 11 bisher vermuteten Fällen von Ebola und zwei weiteren Todesfällen bekannt gegeben, womit sich die Gesamtzahl der Fälle, darunter 25 Todesfälle, auf 45 erhöht hat. Von den Fällen sind 14 bestätigt, 10 vermutet, 21 haben wahrscheinlich das Virus. Alle bisherigen Todesfälle ereigneten sich in Bikoro, einem ländlichen Gebiet etwa 150 km von Mbandaka entfernt, einer Stadt, die wiederum drei Fälle des Virus registriert hat.

Trotz der Behauptung der Weltgesundheitsorganisation, dass die Fälle im Kongo in ländlichen Gebieten registriert wurden, wodurch sie besser eingedämmt werden konnten, hat das Gesundheitsministerium der Seychellen im Rahmen seiner Bereitschaftsinitiative einen Besuch vor Ort mit einigen seiner Beamten durchgeführt, um das Virus einzudämmen, falls es jemals an unseren Küsten landen sollte.

„Wenn dieser Fall eintritt und wir ein oder zwei Fälle haben, die wir untersuchen müssen, werden wir diesen Bereich absichern und alle Patienten, die in das Zentrum gekommen sind, in andere Einrichtungen verlegen; wir wollen nicht das Risiko eingehen, dass andere Menschen mit diesen Patienten in Kontakt kommen“, sagte der Direktor des Seychellen-Krankenhauses, Dr. Kenneth Henriette.

„Alles liegt im Zentrum der Bevölkerung.“ Ich bin beunruhigt, dass die Behörden beschlossen haben, Anse Royale als Isolationszentrum zu nutzen; stellen Sie sich vor, die Kongolesen tun ihr Möglichstes, um das Virus in weit entfernten ländlichen Gebieten zu lassen, während wir es hier auf den Seychellen mitten in einem dicht besiedelten Gebiet einsetzen“, sagte ein Bewohner von Anse Royale.

Wenn man bedenkt, dass die lokale Gesundheitsbehörde das letzte Mal mit der Bedrohung durch ein solches Virus auf den Seychellen zu kämpfen hatte, gibt es diesmal eine kollektive Bündelung der Ressourcen innerhalb des Feldes, um das Problem wirksam anzugehen.

„Wir bereiten nicht nur den Ort vor, sondern auch unsere Mitarbeiter, die Informationen, die wir der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung stellen müssen, sowie den Kauf kostspieliger Schutzausrüstung – es ist eine multidisziplinäre Übung, an der unter anderem Ärzte, Krankenschwestern und Pflegehelferinnen beteiligt sind, um ein effektives Team zu bilden, das sich mit diesem Thema befasst“, fügte er hinzu.

In der jüngsten Vergangenheit hatte das Gesundheitsministerium andere Gebiete in Isolationszentren umgewandelt, für diejenigen, die als Träger der Pest aus Madagaskar verdächtigt werden.

Im Gegensatz zu ihren Namen wurden die Isolationszentren üblicherweise in dicht besiedelten Gebieten der Insel errichtet, wie z.B. Perseverance.

seychellen.com Palme