ANSE INTENDANCE

ANSE INTENDANCE

Beach in the southwest of Mahé




Worth knowing about ANSE INTENDANCE:

The famous and beautiful beach of the Anse Intendance in the south of Mahé offers about 800 meters of powdery white sand and huge breakers. Because there is no protective reef here, the waves are much bigger than on most other beaches of the Islandso that most of the time it is more suitable for surfing than for swimming. During the southeast trade wind the waves can reach frightening heights, but during the northwest trade wind the sea is calmer. This beautiful beach is also very popular for sunbathing.

Here there is a powder-fine light-coloured sandy beach embedded in lush green vegetation with scattered granite rocks and clear turquoise water.
The beach is not protected by a reef in most parts and therefore during the south-east monsoon there are high and powerful waves with currents. The beach is therefore not fully recommended for swimming.

Shady places are limited.

At the northern end of the beach is the 5-star hotel "Banyan Tree" which is currently under renovation.

Directions:
The travel time from Victoria to the Intendance is about 45 minutes. You follow the Bois de Rose Avenue on the Providence Highway at Airport passing the East Coast Road and continuing south. In Anse Forbans the road makes a bend, away from the beach and into the interior slightly uphill. At the crossroads of the police station "Quatre Bornes" the road turns left onto Intendance Road. From here it is a 4 minute drive downhill to the crossroads which leads to the Intendance on the right (sign: Banyan Tree).
You can park your car in a public parking lot a few meters from the beach.
Bus: 5A "Intendance via Bougainville" or with a bus to Baie Lazare or Takamaka and change there to Route 9C "Baie Lazare - Intendance".
seychellen.com Palm tree

en_GBEnglish (UK)

ANSE INTENDANCE

ANSE INTENDANCE

Strand im Südwesten von Mahé




Wissenswertes über die ANSE INTENDANCE:

Der berühmte und wunderschöne Strand der Anse Intendance im Süden von Mahé bietet rund 800 Meter pudrigen, weißen Sand und gewaltige Brecher. Weil es hier kein schützendes Riff gibt, sind die Wellen wesentlich größer als an den meisten anderen Stränden der Insel, so dass er die meiste Zeit eher zum Wellenreiten als zum Schwimmen geeignet ist. Während des Südostpassats können die Wellen furchterregende Höhen erreichen, doch während des Nordwest-Passats ist die See ruhiger. Dieser wunderschöne Strand ist auch zum Sonnenbaden sehr beliebt.

Hier gibt es einen puderfeinen hellen Sandstrand eingebettet in üppig-grüne Vegetation mit vereinzelten Granitfelsen und klarem Türkisen Wasser.
Der Strand ist an den meisten Teilen nicht durch ein Riff geschützt und somit kommt es von allem während des Süd-Ost-Monsun zu hohen und kraftvollen Wellen mit Strömungen. Der Strand ist daher nicht uneingeschränkt zum Baden zu empfehlen.

Schattenplätze sind begrenzt.

Am nördlichen Ende des Strandes befindet sich das 5-Sterne Hotel „Banyan Tree“ welches derzeit unter Renovierung steht.

Wegbeschreibung:
Die Fahrzeit von Victoria zur Intendance beträgt etwa 45 Minuten. Man folgt hierfür der Bois de Rose Avenue auf den Providence Highway am Flughafen vorbei an der Küstenstraße „East Coast Road“ weiter Richtung Süden. In der Anse Forbans macht die Straße eine Kurve, weg vom Strand und rein ins Landesinnere leicht bergauf. An der Kreuzung der Polizeistation „Quatre Bornes“ geht es links auf die Intendance Road. Von hier aus sind es etwa 4 Minuten Fahrt bergab bis zur Kreuzung die rechts zur Intendance abgeht (Hinweisschild: Banyan Tree).
Parken kann man wenige Meter vor dem Strand auf einem öffentlichen Parkplatz.
Bus: 5A „Intendance via Bougainville“ oder mit einem Bus bis Baie Lazare oder Takamaka und dort in Route 9C „Baie Lazare – Intendance“ umsteigen.
seychellen.com Palme