BEL AIR CEMETERY (CEMETERY)

BEL AIR CEMETERY | CEMETERY




Interesting facts about the BEL AIR CEMETERY:

The Bel Air cemetery is without doubt the oldest historical site of the Seychelles. It was opened soon after the French colonization in the late 18th century and was the first official burial place on Mahé.

Tombs, vaults and shrines contain, as important historical milestones, the remains of many famous people, such as the corsair Jean-Francois Hodoul and the 9-foot (274.32cm) tall Charles Dorothée Savy, who was poisoned at the age of 14 by neighbours who feared his size.

There are also the remains of the mysterious Pierre-Louis Poiret in the cemetery, considered by some to be the son of Louis XVI, who fled the French Revolution and sought refuge in the Seychelles.

The cemetery is also the final resting place of a son-in-law of Jean Baptiste QUÉAU de QUINCY, a district official and county administrator, who was buried between other recently rediscovered graves, once buried by the great landslide of 1862.

Directions:

From Victoria, take Revolution Avenue towards Beau Vallon (northwest). After a few hundred meters Bel Air Road turns off to the left. In the first right turn you can already see the cemetery wall on the left side of the road. Just after the wall opposite the bus stop there is a parking lot.

The entrance is free.

BEL AIR FRIEDHOF (CEMETERY)

BEL AIR FRIEDHOF | CEMETERY




Wissenswertes über das BEL AIR CEMETERY:

Der Bel Air Friedhof ist zweifelsohne die älteste historische Stätte der Seychellen. Er wurde bald nach der französischen Besiedlung im späten 18. Jahrhundert eröffnet und war damit der erste offizielle Bestattungsort auf Mahé.

Gräber, Gewölbe und Schreine beinhalten als wichtige historische Meilensteine die Überreste vieler berühmter Persönlichkeiten, wie die des Korsaren Jean-Francois Hodoul und die des 9 Fuß (274,32cm) großen Charles Dorothée Savy, der im Alter von 14 Jahren von Nachbarn vergiftet wurde, die seine Größe fürchteten.

Außerdem befinden sich die Überreste des mysteriösen Pierre-Louis Poiret auf dem Friedhof, der von einigen als Sohn Louis XVI angesehen wurde, der vor der französischen Revolution floh und auf den Seychellen Zuflucht suchte.

Der Friedhof ist auch die letzte Ruhestätte eines Schwiegersohnes von Jean Baptiste QUÉAU de QUINCY, einem Bezirksbeamten und Landrat, der zwischen anderen kürzlich wieder entdeckten Gräbern lag, die einst vom großen Erdrutsch 1862 verschüttet worden waren.

Wegbeschreibung:

Von Victoria ausgehend die Revolution Avenue Richtung Beau Vallon (Nordwesten) nehmen. Nach wenigen hundert Metern zweigt links die Bel Air Road ab. In der ersten Rechtskurve kann man auf der linken Straßenseite bereits die Friedhofsmauer sehen. Kurz nach der Mauer gegenüber der Bushaltestelle gibt es einen Parkplatz.

Der Eintritt ist frei.