President Faure receives oceanographer Dr. Sylvia Earle

President Faure receives the legendary oceanographer Dr. Sylvia Earle at State House




President Foure Press release of 18.02.2020

President Danny Faure received the President and Chairperson of Mission Blue and The Sylvia Earle Alliance, Dr Sylvia Earle, at State House this morning.

The President welcomed her to the State House and thanked Dr Earle for her visit to the Seychelles and for presenting the country on her BBC programme in conjunction with Rolex. President Faure praised Dr Earle for her extraordinary commitment to marine conservation and the work she is doing for mankind. He gave his commitment as head of state that Seychelles will continue to be a strong advocate for environmental conservation, the blue economy and the preservation of marine protected areas.

Dr. Sylvia Earle Oceanographer in the Seychelles

Dr. Earle congratulated the Seychelles on its leadership in achieving ocean protection by 30% 10 years ahead of global targets. She said the example of Seychelles gives cause for hope.

During the meeting, which was also filmed by the BBC for its programme, Dr Earle shared her experiences in the Seychelles with President Faure. Their discussion also revolved around the importance of protecting the oceans, sustainable economic development and the need for urgent collective action to protect the seas. They also discussed the importance of involving young people in educational activities related to the protection of the environment and the oceans. President Faure spoke about the national eco-school programme, under which the winning schools will receive a round-trip trip to Aldabra, fully sponsored by the Seychelles Islands Foundation. This is an example of a program that aims to promote environmental education by encouraging students, teachers and other stakeholders to work together to address various environmental issues.

During an interview with the local media, Dr. Earle highlighted the impact of climate change and how she has observed the vulnerability of the Seychelles. She noted that she can see what is being done in the fight against climate change and that she is excited to be in Seychelles to witness the positive things the country is doing to protect nature and the oceans.

Also present this morning were the Executive Director of the Seychelles Conservation and Climate Adaptation Trust, Angelique Pouponneau, and the policy expert of the Mission Blue/The Sylvia Earle Alliance, Max Bello.

seychellen.com Palm tree

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Präsident Faure empfängt Ozeanografin Dr. Sylvia Earle

Präsident Faure empfängt die legendäre Ozeanografin Dr. Sylvia Earle im State House




Präsident Foure Pressemitteilung vom 18.02.2020

Präsident Danny Faure empfing heute Morgen im State House die Präsidentin und Vorsitzende von Mission Blue und The Sylvia Earle Alliance, Dr. Sylvia Earle.

18.02.2020

Der Präsident begrüßte sie im State House und dankte Dr. Earle für ihren Besuch auf den Seychellen und für die Darstellung des Landes in ihrem BBC-Programm in Zusammenarbeit mit Rolex. Präsident Faure lobte Dr. Earle für ihren außerordentlichen Einsatz für den Schutz der Meere und die Arbeit, die sie für die Menschheit leistet. Er gab seine Zusage als Staatsoberhaupt, dass die Seychellen auch weiterhin ein starker Fürsprecher für die Erhaltung der Umwelt, die Blue Economy und die Erhaltung der Meeresschutzgebiete sein werden.

Dr. Sylvia Earle Oceanographer auf den Seychellen

Dr. Earle beglückwünschte die Seychellen zu ihrer Führungsrolle, den Schutz der Ozeane um 30% 10 Jahre vor den globalen Zielen zu erreichen. Sie sagte, das Beispiel der Seychellen gebe Anlass zur Hoffnung.

Während des Treffens, das auch von der BBC für ihr Programm gefilmt wurde, teilte Dr. Earle mit Präsident Faure ihre Erfahrungen auf den Seychellen. Ihre Diskussion drehte sich auch um die Bedeutung des Schutzes der Ozeane, die nachhaltige wirtschaftliche Entwicklung und die Notwendigkeit einer dringenden kollektiven Aktion, um sich für den Schutz der Meere einzusetzen. Sie sprachen auch darüber, wie wichtig es ist, junge Menschen in Bildungsaktivitäten im Zusammenhang mit dem Schutz der Umwelt und der Ozeane einzubinden. Präsident Faure sprach über das nationale Öko-Schulprogramm, bei dem die Gewinner-Schulen eine Hin- und Rückreise nach Aldabra erhalten, die vollständig von der Stiftung der Seychellen-Inseln gesponsert wird. Dies ist ein Beispiel für ein Programm, das auf die Förderung der Umwelterziehung abzielt, indem es Schüler, Lehrer und andere Interessenvertreter dazu bringt, gemeinsam an der Behandlung verschiedener Umweltfragen zu arbeiten.

Während eines Interviews mit den lokalen Medien hob Dr. Earle die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels hervor und wie sie die Verwundbarkeit der Seychellen beobachtet hat. Sie merkte an, dass sie sehen kann, was im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel getan wird, und dass sie begeistert ist, auf den Seychellen zu sein, um selbst Zeuge der positiven Dinge zu werden, die das Land zum Schutz der Natur und der Ozeane unternimmt.

Ebenfalls anwesend waren heute Morgen die Geschäftsführerin des Seychelles Conservation and Climate Adaptation Trust, Angelique Pouponneau, und der Politikexperte der Mission Blue/The Sylvia Earle Alliance, Max Bello.

seychellen.com Palme