All 115 islands of the Seychelles

Seychelles Islands

in the Indian Ocean, Africa

Lots of information, descriptions & Pictures of the 115 islands of the Seychelles

Things to know about the islands of the Seychelles:

The Seychelles consist of the inner islands and outer islands

The Republic of Seychelles consists of 115 islands, covering a land area of 455 km² and representing an exclusive economic zone of 1.4 million km².

The Seychelles are an archipelago of legendary beauty, stretching between the 4th and 10th parallels south of the equator and located between 480 and 1600 km off the east coast of Africa.

Of the 115 islands in total, 41 are among the oldest mid-ocean granite islands on earth (Inner Islands), while 74 form the deeper coral atolls and reef islands of the "Outer Islands".

The granite islands of the Seychelles archipelago cluster around the main island of Mahé. The capital Victoria is located here, the international airport, the islands Praslin and La Digue are in the immediate vicinity.

These so-called "Inner Islands" form the cultural and economic centre of the nation and also offer the most important tourist infrastructure and the most beautiful dream beaches.

The other archipelagos, commonly known as the Outer Islands, are: the Amirantes Group (about 230 km from Mahé) with the hotel island Desroches, the Southern Coral Group (about 280 km) with the island Coëtivy (shrimp farming), the Alphonse Group (about 400 km) with the main island Alphonse, the Farquhar Group (about 750 km) and the Aldabra Group (about 1.200 km), which is part of the UNESCO World Heritage and is home to a huge colony of Aldabra turtles. All the Outer Islands - with the exception of Desroches and Alphonse - can only be reached by chartered or own small aircraft or ships and are of little interest for general tourism. Therefore we want to concentrate on the main islands in this training.

New islands in the Seychelles, - Eden, Eve & Perseverance

Die Hauptinsel der Seychellen ist Mahé mit einer Fläche von 154 km² – ziemlich genau ein Drittel der gesamten Landfläche aller Inseln. Mahé ist in den letzten Jahren durch Landgewinnung an der Ostküste um einige Quadratkilometer gewachsen. Hier entstanden neue Siedlungen für die Bevölkerung und sogar eine – mit Brücken verbundene – neue künstliche Inseln wie, Eden Island, on which condominiums have been built that foreigners can also purchase, provided that, in addition to Praslin, the island of Evewhich is used as a commercial zone, and Perseverancewhich represent affordable housing alternatives for the Seychellois(e). Of the 73,000 inhabitants of Mahé, one third live in the capital Victoria or its suburbs.

The second largest island is Praslin. The name is pronounced in French: with a nasal at the end, while the "s" is silent ... so roughly: pra-LENG. This island is mainly famous as the home of the coco de mer or Seychelles coconut.

The third largest island, Silhouette, is less important for the average tourist. You can visit it, but there is only one hotel here, and the very largest part of the island is a nature reserve, part of which consists of an almost impenetrable jungle.

Of greater tourist importance, however, is La Digue, the fourth largest island (pronounced: la-DIEG, named after an explorer ship), which lies close to Praslin. So many "typical" Seychelles photos, films and commercials were taken on it that you know its unique granite formations even if you have never heard the island's name.

On all other islands (with the exception of the small island Cerf off the coast of Mahé) there is at most one accommodation, so that the hotel guests are mostly among themselves - some hotel islands are only shared with a handful of other holidaymakers and the staff.

For more detailed information, click on the submenu items. Palm tree

en_GBEnglish (UK)